Brad Binder

Locals shine around the world

South African motorcyclists starred across the globe over the past weekend as a local MotoGP trio stole the headlines. Brad Binder led most of the Assen TT Dutch Grand Prix before settling for second in his best Moto2 result of the season, compatriot Steven Odendaal continued to improve, just missing out on the points in 16th and younger Binder brother Darryn rode a blinder of a race from 24th on the Moto3 grid to fourth, before joining a long list of riders to crash out.

Over the channel meanwhile, SA riders continued to star in spite of dreadful weather at the Knockhill British Superbike weekend in Scotland. Kade Verwey moved into the Junior Supersport 300 championship lead with a win and a third in the two races, while brother Luke struggled. Brent Harran meanwhile rode a splendid race to sixth in Superstock 600, while Bjorn Estment hung on to 20th in the opening Superstock 1000 race after Jordan Weaving retired. 

Also in Europe, Taric van der Merwe rode to 11th and 8th in the two Euro Superstock 600 races in Hungary, while PE youngster Ruche Modley ended 22nd on his Spanish Supersport 300 outing.

Closer to home, William Oosthuizen (Q4 Fuels Husqvarna) came from behind to win the E2 class the SA national IMPI Hard Enduro in Zululand ahead of Lloyd Kirk (Yamaha) and Matthew Green (Q4 Husqvarna), while Kyle Flanagan (Yamaha) took the E2 win from KTM pair Luke Walker and Scott Bouverie and Brett Swanepoel (Q4 Husqvarna). Heinrich Aust took High School, Adrian Werner Senior and Bruce May Masters honours

On four wheels, Fritz Kleynhans and James Forbes Ligier drove their Honda JS53 EVO to a back-to-back victory at the Mopar SA Endurance Zwartkops 4 Hour ahead of two giant-killing baby sportscar class Nash-Volkswagens piloted by Index winners, Temple brothers Scott and James in second and Andrew Horne and Howard Blake. GT winners Ryan Quan-Chai, Mark and Jonathan du Toit (BMW Z4M) were next up ahead of troubled championship leader Nick Adcock and Michael Jensen (Ligier), who fought back to fifth ahead of Production class winners, youngsters Dayne Angel and Jarryd Evans' Honda Civic Type R.

In other Zwartkops action, Lyle Ramsay took double Moto Mart VW Challenge wins to beat Rory Atkinson and Waldie Meintjes to the overall win while Stuart Mack and Dawie van der Merwe took classes B and C. Jaco Schriks won two thrilling Formula Vee wins to take the day from Gert van den Berg and Lendl Jansen, Wouter Roos (Golf) took double Car Care Clinic 111 Sports & Saloon wins over Bertus van Jaarsveld’s Polo, Brett Garland’s Honda won Superhatch from Andre de Lange’s Audi and Formula Ford trio Chris Clarke, Des Hillary and Pat Dunseith topped the Historic Single Seater action.