2 & 4-wheel heroes deliver home & away

National racing dominated the SA racing headlines while several international competitors did the business overseas this past weekend. Sheridan Morias was part of the WEPOL Yamaha team that ended fourth in the Slovakian FIA World Motorcycle Endurance 8 Hour, while fellow South African Kawasaki World SSP300 duo, Dorren Loureiro and Dino Iozzo came home third and fourth at Imola in Italy and Verwey brothers Luke and Kade, grandsons of SA race gearbox legend Andre, dominated the podium at Donington's British Junior Supersport races.

A little further north on four wheels, David Perel drove a stunning last stint in his Ferrari to end 13th, a second behind the  12th placed Bentley that Jordan Pepper had driven earlier in a hard fought Silverstone 4-hour Blancpain GT Endurance race, as Perel ended up a fine fourth in the Silver class. Kelvin van der Linde’s Audi however endured a difficult race after running into trouble early on.

Closer to home, Cape Town racers were on form at home as the national Extreme Festival visited Killarney on Saturday. Local lad Jurie Swart took a bruising opening Falken Polo Cup race from championship leader Jeffrey Kruger and another Cape lad Dario Busi, with several title contenders rendered hors d’combat. Three of them; Brad Liebenberg, Justin Oates and Chris Shorter topped the second race, while Kruger consolidated his title advantage over Liebenberg and Shorter.

Robert Wolk put his BMW on pole in a thin GTC field after championship leader Simon Moss took over teammate Sipuka’s Audi after his car refused to start, but Daniel Rowe grabbed the first race win from Wolk and Moss. Moss bounced back to take race 2 from Keagan Masters (VW) and van Rooyen as Moss consolidated his title lead. Bradley Liebenberg took the opening GTC2 race from the similar Golfs of Adrian Wood and Charl Smalberger, who took the second race from Mandla Mdakane's Mini and Paul Hill’s Focus after Liebenberg and Wood fell victim to a first corner crash. 

On two wheels, local hero David McFadden beat Clinton Seller’s similar Yamaha and Lance Isaacs’ BMW to the opening SA Superbike win before Seller put one over McFadden and local lad Hayden Jonas’ Yamaha in race 2 as McFadden took the day from Seller and Isaacs. Another local hero, Kewyn Snyman beat Blaze Baker and Jared Schultz’ similar Yamahas to SA 600 Supersport victory, with Baker leading Snyman and Schultz to the race 2 win, while Snyman took the day.

In other Killarney action, Franco Scribante raced his Chevron to double David & Goliath Pirelli Sports & GT victories over Craig Jarvis' mighty Ginetta, with Marcel Angel’s Ferrari third ahead of Johan Engelbrecht’s Porsche each time. Jaco Schriks beat Gert van den Berg and Lushen Ramchander to the first Hankook Formula Vee race win before Schriks wrapped up the day with a second race win over van den Berg and Richard Carr.

William Oosthuizen rode his Husqvarna to his third E1 win on the trot in the Lesotho Live SA Enduro motorcycle round to eke out another few points over second placed Lloyd Kirk’s Yamaha, Bradley Cox on a KTM and Matthew Green’s Husqvarna. Kyle Flanagan’s Yamaha took E2 honours over archrival Scott Bouverie's KTM in their tit-for-tat title fight with Husqvarna duo William-Waide Slater and Brett Swanepoel next up, while Heinrich Aust rode his KTM to schoolboy honours, Bruce May’s Yamaha took Senior and Dwain Barnard rode his KTM to the Masters win.

In regional race action, the Border Regional Championships at the East London Grand Prix Circuit saw Bevan Schwarz’ Corvette, Bruce Butler’s Nardini and Shaun Gradwell’s BMW share Modifieds honours as Gradwell took Class B, Bevan Choudree’s turbo Polo Class C, Troy Marais BMW won Class D and Cherne, Sharnell and Melandri Marais delivered a splendid ladies Class E 1-2-3. Jason Lamb took his Kawasaki to another two Border Motorcycle wins from Gerrit Nel and Chris Webster each time and Danian Staffan’s Capri Perana beat Mike Forsyth's Cobra and Derek Boy in the Historic races.